Diposkan pada Travel

‘Ak-Tuz’ the charming white valley

Autumn break is coming!!!

It’s not me spending the holiday just staying at home. So, I planned to go to Ak-Tuz with my friend. Unfortunately, my friend got sick and she couldn’t join me. I decided to go there by myself, not literally by myself because I joined an open trip.

Our meeting point was early morning in Bishkek. Since I live outside of Bishkek, I decided to come a day before and stayed in a hotel. On the day, I woke up early and prepared everything I needed, then went to the meeting point by taxi. I arrived there at 07. 05 am, I thought I was late but It’s not because I was the fourth person coming there. It’s supposed to depart at 07.40 am, yet we departed at 08.00 am.

Why Ak-Tuz?? I’m interested in this place and some facts about it. Let me tell you the facts about this place.

Once upon a time … hehehe no need to start with this phrase.

Anyway, the village was built in 1938, until 2012 was considered an urban-type settlement. Ak-Tuz means “White Valley” – the clay here is of a light shade due to the content of a large amount of salt. Since 1942, ore containing lead has been mined and processed here. As you know during the Great Patriotic War, bullets were cast from lead. Before the collapse of the Soviet Union, Ak-Tyuz was considered a military-industrial facility, entry was prohibited.

Once there lived about 4000 people, now the population is about 700 people.

The Ak-Tuz valley is another beautiful place in the Kyrgyz Republic. There are many birch groves, many mushrooms, medicinal herbs, berries, etc. Also, there are such attractions as a fountain, which gushes at a height of 15 meters, in winter it turns into an ice block. Quarry lake, in which the water is very rich emerald green. Ski base, built according to European standards.

I thought it’s easy to reach every place which I mentioned, but it’s not as easy as I thought. I forgot that this country is geographically isolated by its highly mountainous. So, to see the places you need to hike. Last time I hiked the mountain was in 2013. As a city person it’s a bit difficult for me. Then it became a nightmare because I did it in winter. Almost all the way was covered by snow. It made me really slow like a snail (Thanks to 2 women who accompanied me during that hard time). The road was uphill and steep. I was exhausted and I almost gave up. But I thought it’s too bad to give up. I kept saying you can do it! You can do it!

If you can dream it, you can do it.

And yeah I DID IT!!!

Bitha’s story 15th Nov 2021

Penulis:

I'm a teacher. I love traveling, cooking, eating and reading.

Tinggalkan komentar